The latest scoop from Calgary's #1 International Readers Festival

2016 Giller Nominees at Wordfest

The longlist for the 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize is in! The nominees were selected by an esteemed five-member jury panel: Canadian writers Lawrence Hill (Wordfest 1997, 2007, 2015), Jeet Heer (Wordfest 2014) and Kathleen Winter (Wordfest 2014), along with British author Samantha Harvey and Scottish writer Alan Warner.

2016 Giller Nominees appearing at Wordfest this fall:

  • Emma Donoghue for her novel The Wonder, published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • Steven Price for his novel By Gaslight, published by McClelland & Stewart
  • Madeleine Thien for her novel Do Not Say We Have Nothing, published by Alfred A. Knopf Canada
  • Zoe Whittall for her novel The Best Kind of People, published by House of Anansi Press Inc.