A Morning with Hart Hanson

A Morning with Hart Hanson

A Morning with Hart Hanson

Hosted by Stephen Hunt

Aug 16 @ 9 AM - 10 AM MT $10 - $20
Memorial Park Library, 2nd Floor
1221 2 St SW
BUY TICKETS

It's been a whirlwind book tour for The Seminarian and TV genius (he describes himself self-effacingly as a "typist") Hart Hanson, with pals like Rainn Wilson (Dwight in The Office) already stepping up for their friend in the U.S. Wordfest is lucky to have one of Hanson's oldest and drollest pals, journalist Stephen Hunt, do the hosting honours for us in a morning event that will be half talk show, half master class. Want to know how to expertly create character, plot, dialogue, and humour? Ask Hanson. Want to know how to turn a book into a TV series? Ask Hanson. The conversation starts at 9AM MT and includes an audience Q & A and book signing, fuelled by Owl’s Nest Books. The conversation starts at 9AM MT and includes an audience Q & A and book signing, fuelled by Owl’s Nest Books.

We are grateful to Blackstone Publishing for making it possible to connect you with this extraordinary storyteller.

About The Seminarian

If you like your detectives hard-boiled but with a redeeming soft center then step forward Xavier Priest, your newest PI hero. In The Seminarian, Hart Hanson has sent his gloriously unforgettable characters into a wondrously twisty-turny mystery that the reader will never want to end. More please!” –Stephen Fry

A Criminal Element Pick of Most Anticipated 2024 Books! From the creator of the TV show BonesThe Seminarian is a twisty murder mystery perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen.

Xavier “Priest” Priestly is a snarky former seminarian turned private investigator. Dusty Queen is a hard-as-nails professional stuntwoman and freelance bodyguard. When Dusty’s girlfriend suddenly disappears, a woman in a strange blue wig tries to assassinate Priest, and a twelve-year-old boy shows up claiming to be his son, the two friends are thrown into a maelstrom of intrigue and high-stakes violence that’s as convoluted and dangerous as it is hilarious.

Thankfully, Priest and Dusty don’t have to navigate these tangled mysteries alone. Aided by a lawyer who’s underwhelmed by their extra-legal methods, a strait-laced detective who doesn’t trust them as far as he can throw them, and Priest’s father, a notorious bank robber, they are well equipped to deal with potential kidnapping and attempted murder. But whether Priest is up to the challenge of a son with a gun, a backpack full of weed, and a major attitude problem… well, that’s a different story.

With its unforgettable cast, parade of twists and turns, and breakneck pace, The Seminarian showcases Hart Hanson at his best. Packed with action and glistening with snappy dialogue, surprising tenderness, and (mostly) good people doing some exceptionally bad things, this distinctive thriller is as entertaining as it is insightful.

About Hart Hanson

Hart Hanson is the creator and showrunner of Bones, the longest-running scripted hour-long series on the FOX network. His debut novel, The Driver, was hailed by The New York Times Book Review as “off the charts: blunt, morbid, morally indignant, and furiously funny” and is currently in development with Netflix. Hanson graduated from University College, University of Toronto, with degrees in Political Theory and English, and from the University of British Columbia with a Master of Fine Arts. He lives with his wife and two sons in Venice, California. Visit him at HartHanson.com or follow him on Instagram @hartdhanson or Facebook @HartHansonBookWriter.

About Host Stephen Hunt

Stephen Hunt has been a digital producer at CTV Calgary since 2019, the latest stop in a career that has included stops at the Calgary Herald, where he was an entertainment reporter and theatre critic for 10 years, the CBC, and two different stretches as a stringer and critic for The Globe & Mail, among many other publications. Hunt also taught journalism at Mount Royal University, and playwriting for over a decade at the University of British Columbia, where he was a student before that. Hart Hanson was one of the first grad students he met upon arriving in Vancouver, a long time ago. Follow him on Instagram @halfstep86.

Curiouser?

You May Also Like

7 PM
Wordfest Presents Jessica Waite
Jul 30 @ 7 PM MT - 8:15 PM MT

Memorial Park Library, 2nd Floor

1221 2 St SW
Add To Cart
7 PM
Wordfest Presents Ann Powers
Jul 31 @ 7 PM MT - 8:15 PM MT

Memorial Park Library, 2nd Floor

1221 2 St SW
Add To Cart
7 PM
Wordfest Presents Kathy Reichs with Hart Hanson
Aug 15 @ 7 PM MT - 8:15 PM MT

Patricia A. Whelan Performance Hall, Central Library

800 3 Street SE
Add To Cart
9 AM
A Morning with Hart Hanson
Aug 16 @ 9 AM MT - 10 AM MT

Memorial Park Library, 2nd Floor

1221 2 St SW
Add To Cart
7 PM
Wordfest Presents Becka Mack
Sep 12 @ 7 PM MT - 8:15 PM MT

Patricia A. Whelan Performance Hall, Central Library

800 3 Street SE
Add To Cart