Wordfest Presents Kate Hilton & Elizabeth Renzetti

Wordfest Presents Kate Hilton & Elizabeth Renzetti

Wordfest Presents Kate Hilton & Elizabeth Renzetti

Mar 14 @ 7 PM - 8:15 PM MT $15 - $25
Memorial Park Library, 2nd Floor
1221 2 St SW
BUY TICKETS

Wordfest is pleased to present bestselling authors Kate Hilton and Elizabeth Renzetti with the first book in their new series, Bury the Lead: A Quill & Packet Mystery. Raves bestselling writer Samantha M. Bailey, "This very witty, sharp, fun, and suspenseful cozy mystery is the best escape and also a thought-provoking novel." We can't wait for the conversation, hosted by Leah Sarich, which will be followed by an audience Q & A and book signing. Owl's Nest Books will be on hand with copies of Bury the Lead and selections from the authors' backlists.  

We are grateful to House of Anansi Press for making it possible to connect you with these smart, generous writers. 

About Bury the Lead

“A smart, devious whodunnit filled with theatrical shadows and veils, Bury the Lead is both twisty and hilarious." –Robyn Harding, bestselling author of The Drowning Woman

Cat Conway has recently returned to Port Ellis to work as a reporter at the Quill & Packet. She’s fled the tattered remains of her high-profile career and bad divorce for the holiday town of her childhood, famous for its butter tarts, theatre, and a century-old feud.

One of Cat’s first assignments is to interview legendary actor Eliot Fraser, the lead in the theatre’s season opener of Inherit the Wind. When Eliot ends up dead onstage on opening night, the curtain rises on the sleepy town’s secrets. The suspects include the actor whose career Eliot ruined, the ex-wife he betrayed, the women he abused and even the baker he wronged. With the attention of the world on Port Ellis, this story could be Cat’s chance to restore her reputation. But the police think she’s a suspect, and the murderer wants to kill the story — and her too. Can Cat solve the mystery before she loses her job or becomes the next victim of a killer with a theatrical bent for vengeance?

About Kate Hilton

Kate Hilton is the bestselling author of three novels: The Hole in the Middle, Just Like Family, and Better Luck Next Time. When not writing, Hilton works with psychotherapy and life coaching clients in the area of transformational change. Follow her on Instagram @katehiltonbooks

About Elizabeth Renzetti

Elizabeth Renzetti is the author of the essay collection Shrewed: A Wry and Closely Observed Look at the Lives of Women and Girls and the novel Based on a True Story. In 2020, she won the Landsberg Award for her reporting on gender equality. Follow her on Instagram @lizrenzetti

Your Favourite Writers Love This Book

  • “Two of my favourite authors have joined forces to create an engaging, sly mystery that is perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Louise Penny. With a heroine to root for, a quirky supporting cast, a charming but shadowy small-town setting, and a whodunit that had me turning pages as fast as I could, this novel is an absolute delight! –Marissa Stapley, author of Lucky
  • “A propulsive, juicy little ride — the perfect combination of Agatha Christie and Janet Evanovich — a gorgeously written, twisty, turny, small-town whodunnit, that also seamlessly weaves together themes of a dying era of journalism, the ruthless nature of ‘theatah,’ and the strength of a woman trying to reinvent herself, heal her heart, and hopefully catch a killer before it’s too late." –Lisa Gabriele, author of The Winters
  • “Reading Bury the Lead is like having cocktails with your most fabulous friends. Liz and Kate tell you fantastic stories, and you laugh, gasp, say ‘Wow!’ and ‘What?!’ a lot, and learn a few tricks you’re glad to know. They get the worlds of theatre and journalism exactly right, the stubborn talents and eggshell egos. The minute it’s over, you can’t wait to get together again." –Johanna Schneller, Bigger Picture columnist, Globe and Mail

 

You May Also Like

7 PM
Wordfest & Taylor Centre for Performing Arts Present Dr. Jen Gunter
Feb 21 @ 7 PM MT - 8:15 PM MT

Bella Concert Hall

4825 Mt Royal Gate SW
1 PM
Wordfest Presents Danielle L. Jensen
Feb 24 @ 1 PM MT - 2:15 PM MT

Memorial Park Library, 2nd Floor

1221 2 St SW
Add To Cart
7 PM
Wordfest Presents Alexandra Posadzki
Feb 27 @ 7 PM MT - 8:15 PM MT

Memorial Park Library, 2nd Floor

1221 2 St SW
Add To Cart
7 PM
Wordfest Presents Kate Hilton & Elizabeth Renzetti
Mar 14 @ 7 PM MT - 8:15 PM MT

Memorial Park Library, 2nd Floor

1221 2 St SW
Add To Cart
7 PM
Wordfest Presents Tessa Bailey & Yulin Kuang
Apr 18 @ 7 PM MT - 8:15 PM MT

Patricia A. Whelan Performance Hall, Central Library

800 3 Street SE
Add To Cart